When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›
Wiki Shopping

Mattress Firmness Labels, Explained

Soft, medium, medium firm and firm are each maker's own labels for how much a mattress gives; medium firm is the most common label we list.

On this page
Bar chart of the 280 mattresses on Wiki Shopping by stated firmness. Medium Firm is the largest group with 52 mattresses, followed by Medium with 50 and Firm with 43.
Mattresses on Wiki Shopping by the firmness their listings state, from our listing data on October 23, 2026. Chart by Wiki Shopping.

The short answer

A firmness label tells you how much a mattress is meant to give when you lie on it: a soft mattress lets you sink in more, a firm one less. The label comes from the maker, and Wiki Shopping shows it as the listing states it. We do not test mattresses, and two makers' "medium firm" may not feel the same.

Of the 280 mattresses listed on Wiki Shopping on October 23, 2026, the most common label is Medium Firm (52 mattresses), followed by Medium (50) and Firm (43). 112 listings give no firmness label.

Firmness labels on Wiki Shopping

How many of the 280 mattresses on Wiki Shopping carry each firmness label, on October 23, 2026. Labels with a filter page link to it.

FirmnessMattresses
Soft18
Medium50
Medium Firm52
Firm43
Extra Firm5
Not stated in the listing112

Firmness is one spec of several

How a mattress feels also depends on what it is made of and how thick it is. Wiki Shopping lets you filter those too:

How to use the label

  1. Compare within one brand first. The label is the maker's own description, so it is easiest to read against the same maker's other models.
  2. Read the return terms before you buy. Comfort is personal, and a label is no substitute for sleeping on the mattress. Return windows depend on the store. Amazon's return policy, for example, gives mattresses other than crib mattresses 90 days; our Amazon return policy summary links to it.

How we count

Each mattress on Wiki Shopping has its firmness read from the store listing. A mattress whose listing gives no firmness is counted as "Not stated". The counts change as listings are added or removed.

Shop by spec

Mattresses

Modway

Queen, 8 to 10 in

+Queen size fits most standard bedrooms
+Gel infused memory foam
+CertiPUR-US certified foam
$231.99-7%Was: $249.37
as of 11/04/2026 00:15 PST - Details
Tempur-Pedic

King, Memory Foam, Medium, 11 to 12 in

+King size fits larger beds and two sleepers
+All memory foam construction
+Medium firmness suits many sleep preferences
$2,799.00-7%Was: $2,999.00
as of 11/04/2026 05:39 PST - Details
Modway

Full, Memory Foam, 8 to 10 in

+Full size suits single sleepers and guest rooms
+Memory foam comfort layer
+Individually encased coils support each section
$207.21
as of 11/04/2026 00:15 PST - Details
Maranon

Queen, Hybrid, Medium Firm, 13 in and up

+Queen size for two sleepers
+14 inch hybrid thickness for a substantial feel
+Individually wrapped coils for targeted support
−Thick profile may need deeper fitted sheets
−Medium firm feel may not suit everyone
$349.99-50%List: $699.99
as of 11/04/2026 00:06 PST - Details
See all 383 in Mattresses ›