When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›
Wiki Shopping

Amazon Hub Lockers and Counter Pickup, Explained

Amazon can ship eligible orders to a Locker, a Counter or a UPS Access Point; here are the size limits, how pickup works and how long packages wait.

On this page
Card reading Amazon lockers and pickup, with an icon of a wall of locker doors.
Illustration by Wiki Shopping.

Store policies change. This is a summary in our own words of Amazon's help pages on pickup locations and its Amazon pickup page, read on October 27, 2026. The official pages are the ones that apply; check them before you choose a pickup point.

What the pickup options are

Amazon lets you send eligible orders to a pickup point instead of your address. Its help pages name three kinds: Amazon Locker (a self-service locker), Amazon Counter (a staffed counter inside a partner store, select Whole Foods Market stores among them) and UPS Access Point locations. Eligible pickup points show up at checkout, based on your location and what is available.

Which orders qualify

Each option has its own limits. Every item must be sold or fulfilled by Amazon.com, and Subscribe and Save items and Release-Date Delivery items are excluded everywhere.

RuleAmazon LockerAmazon CounterUPS Access Point
WeightUnder 10 lbs shipping weightUp to 33 lbsNot stated
SizeSmaller than 16 x 12 x 14 inchesUp to 36 x 24 x 24 inchesSmaller than 38 x 38 x 38 inches
Order valueUnder $5,000Not statedUnder $5,000
Other limitsNo hazardous materials, no items shipping from other countries, not a wish list addressNo special handling items; items must be ready to ship within 24 hoursNo special handling items

Some Counter partners set tighter limits. Checkout flags any item that does not qualify.

How to pick up from a Locker

Amazon emails you when the package arrives, with the locker address and opening times. There are two kinds:

  1. Locker with a screen: enter the 6-digit pickup code from the email or the Track Package page, or scan its barcode under the touch screen. The right door opens.
  2. Locker without a screen: turn on Location and Bluetooth, open the email or Your Orders in the Amazon Shopping app, choose Start Pickup, then Open Locker.

How to pick up from a Counter

The Counter email lists the tracking ID, a pickup barcode and the store's address and hours. Go during opening hours and show the code to a store associate. Hours vary by location; check them under View order details.

Someone else picking up

To let another person collect a Locker or Counter package, forward them the delivery email. For a phone-only locker, they need a smartphone with Bluetooth and the latest Amazon Shopping app. Amazon warns that some other pickup points ask for a government-issued photo ID, so use the full name as it appears on that person's ID when you order.

How long a package waits

Amazon's pickup page says a Locker holds a package for three days and a Counter for seven days. If you do not collect it in time, Amazon returns it and refunds you automatically. The same page says Prime members get their usual free shipping to a Locker or Counter, and other shoppers get free shipping on orders of $35 or more. Apartment lockers are different: the package stays until the property manager empties the compartment.

Returns at a pickup point

Some items can be returned at a participating pickup location. Start in the Returns Center; if a pickup point is an option for that item, it appears there, and Amazon emails the return instructions.

Sources

Pickup Locations, Pickup Location Eligibility, Collect a Package at an Amazon Locker, Amazon Locker, Collect Your Package at an Amazon Counter, Return a Package at an Amazon Pickup Location and Amazon pickup, Amazon. Policy checked October 27, 2026.

Shop by spec