Dollar Tree Payment Methods, Explained
Dollar Tree stores take cards, EBT and checks, while DollarTree.com takes major cards and PayPal but says it cannot accept Apple Pay or Google Wallet.
On this page

Store policies change. This is a summary in our own words of Dollar Tree's Store Questions and Answers pages, its Online Payment Options page and its store locator, all read on October 26, 2026. The official pages are the ones that apply; check them or ask your store before you rely on a payment method.
What Dollar Tree accepts, in short
| Payment | In store | DollarTree.com |
|---|---|---|
| Credit and debit cards | Yes | American Express, Visa, Mastercard, Discover |
| EBT | Yes, at stores marked Accepts EBT | Not listed |
| Checks | Yes, all stores | Not listed |
| Dollar Tree gift cards | Sold and checked at the register | Sold online |
| PayPal and PayPal Credit | Not stated | Yes |
| Apple Pay | Not stated by Dollar Tree (see below) | No |
| Google Wallet | Not stated by Dollar Tree | No |
| Coupons | See the store coupon policy | No |
Does Dollar Tree accept EBT?
Dollar Tree's store help page on credit, debit and EBT cards treats EBT as a normal way to pay at the register: it explains what to do about a duplicate charge on a credit, debit or EBT card, and it warns that if you pick EBT cash benefits when you meant food benefits, the sale cannot be switched once it is complete. So choose the right benefit on the keypad before you finish.
Dollar Tree's store locator lists features for each store, and one of those features is a badge reading Accepts EBT. Look up your store before you go if you plan to pay with SNAP.
Does Dollar Tree take Apple Pay?
Online, no. Dollar Tree's Payment Options page says it is not able to accept Apple Pay or Google Wallet at this time.
In stores, Dollar Tree's own help pages we could read do not mention Apple Pay or tap to pay. Two consumer finance sites updated in 2025, SuperMoney and MoneyPantry, report that Apple Pay works at most Dollar Tree stores; MoneyPantry bases this on a 2020 company post saying most registers can take contactless payments. Treat that as reported, not official, and ask your store to confirm.
Cards, cash back and fees
Dollar Tree says it does not add a surcharge to credit or debit card purchases. If you see a separate fee, it says to ask your bank. Cash back on a debit card is different: Dollar Tree charges a $1.00 fee for cash back, and you approve it at the register before the sale goes through.
The same page adds:
- Once a sale is complete, it cannot be moved to a different card.
- Duplicate card authorizations should drop off within three business days; after that, use the customer help form.
- For a declined card, Dollar Tree says it does not get the details and sends you to your bank.
Checks and gift cards
Dollar Tree says every store can process checks through electronic check acceptance. Returned checks are handled by TeleCheck, its check collection agency.
Dollar Tree gift cards are sold in stores and online, and you can check a balance at any store register or by calling the number on the back of the card.
Sources
Dollar Tree's Credit, Debit, or EBT Cards, Checks, Gift Cards and Payment Options pages and its store locator. In-store Apple Pay as reported by SuperMoney and MoneyPantry. Policy checked October 26, 2026.