When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›
Wiki Shopping

Laptop Storage Sizes, from 128GB to 4TB

Storage holds your files when the laptop is off; 1TB is the most common size among the laptops we list, and 1TB means 1,000GB.

On this page
Bar chart of the 839 laptops on Wiki Shopping by storage size. 1TB is the largest group with 260 laptops, followed by 512GB with 173.
Laptops on Wiki Shopping by storage size, from our listing data on October 23, 2026. Chart by Wiki Shopping.

The short answer

Storage is the drive that keeps your apps, photos and documents when the laptop is turned off. It is a different part from RAM, which only holds what is open right now.

Of the 839 laptops listed on Wiki Shopping on October 23, 2026, the most common storage size is 1TB (260 laptops), followed by 512GB (173 laptops) and 2TB (120 laptops).

What GB and TB mean

The prefixes come from the metric system. NIST, the US measurement agency, defines giga (G) as one billion (10 to the 9th power) and tera (T) as one trillion (10 to the 12th power). So 1TB is 1,000GB, and 2TB is 2,000GB.

The operating system and the apps that come with the laptop also take part of the space before you save anything.

Storage sizes on Wiki Shopping

How many of the 839 laptops on Wiki Shopping list each storage size, on October 23, 2026. Each size links to its filter page.

StorageLaptops
128GB56
256GB81
512GB173
1TB260
2TB120
4TB44
Other sizes (64GB to 16TB)65
Not stated in the listing40

How to choose

  • Count what you keep on the laptop itself. Photo and video libraries, games and large projects take the most room. Files kept in cloud storage or on an external drive do not count against the laptop's drive.
  • Leave space for updates. Microsoft asks for at least 64GB of storage just to install Windows 11, and updates need free space over time.
  • Compare RAM at the same time. The two are often confused. Our guide to how much RAM a laptop needs covers memory.
  • Big libraries? The laptops with big storage page filters for larger drives.

How we count

Each laptop on Wiki Shopping has its storage read from the store listing, in gigabytes. A laptop whose listing gives no storage size is counted as "Not stated". The counts change as listings are added or removed.

Shop by spec

Laptops

LenovoSpec score 7.3

Intel Core Ultra 7 355, 24GB RAM, 1TB Storage, 16-inch

+16-inch OLED touchscreen for vivid display output
+Intel Core Ultra 7 processor
+24GB RAM for heavy multitasking
−Weighs 2.04 kg, heavier for daily carrying
$1,599.99-45%List: $2,899.99
as of 11/04/2026 19:27 PST - Details
LenovoSpec score 7.3

AMD Ryzen AI 5 430, Radeon 840M, 16GB RAM, 512GB Storage

+Large 16-inch touchscreen with IPS panel
+16GB LPDDR5X memory for multitasking
+Windows 11 Pro for business features
−Heavy at 1.83 kg for daily carrying
−Only 512GB storage
$966.49-40%List: $1,599.99
as of 11/04/2026 19:27 PST - Details
AcerSpec score 7.5

Intel Core Ultra 5 125H, 8GB RAM, 512GB Storage, 14-inch

+16-inch OLED panel with high-resolution display
+120Hz refresh rate for smooth motion
+512GB SSD storage
−Only 8GB RAM for multitasking
−Screen listed at 14 inches, conflicting with the 16-inch name
$623.79-31%List: $899.00
as of 11/04/2026 19:20 PST - Details
MicrosoftSpec score 7.6

Qualcomm Snapdragon X2 Elite, 16GB RAM, 1TB Storage, 13.8-inch

+Snapdragon X2 Elite processor with 16 GB RAM
+1000 GB storage for a large file library
+Light at 1.36 kg for daily carrying
$1,549.99-23%List: $1,999.99
as of 11/04/2026 19:27 PST - Details
See all 1,517 in Laptops ›